30 April & 7 May Multus #2: dance on piano

posted on March 18th 2015
photo Sagami Yujiro

Multus #2: dance on piano is a theatrical concert with video. Together with Gerard Bouwhuis, I present an intriguing program for two pianos surrounded by a forest of video screens. Films showing blossoming flowers and growing crystals filmed by J.C. Moll surround the audience. In this setting we play an arrangement of Le Sacre du Printemps, the groundbreaking work by Igor Stravinsky in which the ghosts of an untamed prehistoric Russia are evoked. We also play two more restrained pieces, Experiences 1 by John Cage and Socrate, drame symphonique en 3 parties by Erik Satie in an arrangement for two pianos by John Cage. The various rhythms of film and music draw the audience in and sometimes accompany each other, and sometimes expressly not.

Igor Stravinsky – Sacre du Printemps (1913)
Erik Satie – Socrate, drame symphonique en 3 parties, arrangé pour 2 pianos par John Cage (1919/1944)
John Cage – Experience I, voor twee piano’s (1945)

THURSDAY 30 APRIL, – De Vereeniging, Nijmegen (NL)
THURSDAY 7 MAY, 20h30 – Korzo, The Hague (NL)